Esars Itec 2018

Keynote Speakers


Dr. Bulent Sarlioglu is a professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and an associate director of the Wisconsin Electric Machines and Power Electronics Consortium (WEMPEC).

Dr. Sarlioglu spent more than 10 years at Honeywell’s aerospace division, most recently as a staff systems engineer, earning Honeywell’s technical achievement award in 2003 and an outstanding engineer award in 2011.  He contributed to many internally or externally funded R&D programs and the realization of technology development programs for many platforms including Boeing 7E7 (787), Airbus A350 and A380.

Dr. Sarlioglu’s research interests include electric machines and power electronics. Current research includes novel flux-switching permanent magnet machines, and the characterization and control of internal permanent magnet machines. His research team also focuses on the design and optimization of high-speed machines.  In power electronics, his research team exploits the wide bandgap devices to use in power electronic converters that address many new challenges, including EMI/EMC and gate drive design.  His research is currently funded by NSF, DOE, NASA, and industry.  He received the NSF CAREER award in 2016.

Dr. Sarlioglu is involved in many professional activities. He is the editor of the IEEE Electrification Magazine for the electric airplane. Currently, he is the vice-chair of IEEE Power Electronics Society Technical Committee on Vehicle and Transportation Systems and the vice-chair of the Industrial Applications Society Transportation Systems Committee. He is also the secretary of the motor subcommittee in Power and Energy Society. Dr. Sarlioglu is the inventor or co-inventor of 16 U.S. patents. Four additional U.S. patents are pending.

Dr. Babak Fahimi received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering with the highest distinction from the University of Tehran, Iran in 1991 and 1993 respectively. He earned his PhD in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University in 1999. Currently, He is a Distinguished Chair in Engineering and the Director of the Renewable Energy and Vehicular Technology at the University of Texas at Dallas. Dr. Fahimi has been the recipient of DAAD scholarship (1993-1995), IEEE R.M. Bass Power Electronics Young Investigator Award (2003), SAE Ralph Teetor Educational award (2008), Fulbright scholarship in 2010, and IEEE Cyril Veinott electromechanical energy conversion award in 2015. Dr. Fahimi has co-authored over 300 scientific articles, 15 book chapters, and several technical reports in the general area of adjustable speed motor drives and power electronics. He holds 18 US patents and has 6 more pending. Dr. Fahimi has supervised 26 PhD (Four tenured/tenure track professors) and 20 M.S. students. He is a Fellow of IEEE for his contributions to modeling and analysis of adjustable speed ac motor drives.

Prof. Fei Gao received the Master’s degree in electrical and control system engineering in 2007, and the Ph.D. degree in renewable energy with distinguished youth doctor reward in 2010, both from the University of Technology of Belfort-Montbeliard (UTBM), Belfort, France. He is currently a Full Professor and the Head of the Energy Production Division at the Energy Department of UTBM, where he was an Associate Professor between 2011 and 2017. His main research fields include fuel cells and their applications in transportation, multi-physical modeling and real time simulation systems. Prof. Gao is the holder of the French research expertise bonus (PEDR) by the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research. He is also an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications and IEEE Transactions on Transportation Electrification, and the Chair of fuel cell system architecture optimization research axis of the national Fuel Cell Research Federation FCLAB in France. He is nominated in 2017 as Conferences/Workshops Committee Chair of IEEE Transportation Electrification Community, and serve since 2018 as Chair of the Technical Committee on Transportation Electrification of the IEEE Industry Electronic Society.

Mr Rob Watson is the Director of Rolls-Royce Electrical.  Rob has previously held a number of different roles across the Rolls-Royce group, joining eight years ago as Regional Director, Middle East, before taking on a number of customer business and programme management leadership roles.  Immediately before taking on his current position Rob was Chief of Staff to the group CEO, Warren East.  Prior to joining Rolls-Royce Rob worked in the oil and gas industry, having started his career as a diplomat with the British Foreign Office.  He is married with three children. 


Call for Special Sessions is open!

Regular paper submission system will be open soon.

November 7th-9th, 2018
United Kingdom

Authors deadlines

Provisional papers:
May 1st, 2018

Notification of acceptance:
July 1st, 2018

Final submissions:
September 15th, 2018

Special sessions

Thinking of organizing a Special Session? Proposals deadline:
March 1st, 2018

Site Visitors (top 12):
Free counters!

Copyright © 2018 ESARS ITEC 2018